Sunday, May 1, 2016

Ten reasons to check out The Art of Lainey for $1.99!!

Order from: *HarperCollins*   *Amazon*   *Barnes & Noble*   *iTunes*   *Kobo Books*
                   
                     *Chapters-Indigo*   *Amazon.ca*

EEEEEEP! I am so excited that The Art of Lainey is getting an e-book sale in preparation for this month's release of Girl Against the Universe. 

If you enjoyed GATU, I think you will also like LAINEY! Main character Lainey is snarkier than Maguire, but she grows and changes throughout the story--yay, character development! In a lot of ways I think LAINEY displays some of my best writing. It truly is the book of my heart and I took so much care to craft unique settings and fun characters.


Click here if you want to read the beginning. FYI, you have to drag the pages from right to left to keep reading. (I had trouble navigating the Overdrive site the first time I tried.)

Here's the basic story info, in case you're not familiar:

Soccer star Lainey Mitchell is gearing up to spend an epic summer with her amazing boyfriend, Jason, when he suddenly breaks up with her—no reasons, no warning, and in public no less! Lainey is more than crushed, but with help from her friend Bianca, she resolves to do whatever it takes to get Jason back.

And that’s when the girls stumble across a copy of The Art of War. With just one glance, they're sure they can use the book to lure Jason back into Lainey’s arms. So Lainey channels her inner warlord, recruiting spies to gather intel and persuading her coworker Micah to pose as her new boyfriend to make Jason jealous. After a few "dates", it looks like her plan is going to work! But now her relationship with Micah is starting to feel like more than just a game.

What's a girl to do when what she wants is totally different from what she needs? How do you figure out the person you're meant to be with, if you're still figuring out the person you're meant to be?


Here's what some other smart people think of the novel:

“Refreshingly honest, sweet and romantic. The love story is everything readers want—perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, but with an edge.” --Romantic Times Book Reviews

"Stokes does a good job with the sports subplots as well as the familial relationships. Lainey is a driven athlete who focuses on her passion, which is a refreshing change of pace." --School Library Journal

“A mesmerizing journey of discovery, navigating that slippery line between what one wants and what one really needs. Romance, wit, and highly relatable characters join forces to create one addictive story.” --Rachel Harris, New York Times bestselling author


Just for fun, my top ten reasons why you should read The Art of Lainey:

10. It might help you understand The Art of War (or make you want to read it, if you haven't read it yet.) Note: once you read The Art of War, you will start applying it to everything.

 9. The character of Trinity. That is my favorite name out of ALL the names, so you can bet she's made of win. Also, Trinity's cat shoes, which I own :)

 8. Sporty girls! Warning: this book might make you want to kick around a soccer ball or go for a run.

 7. Ms. Creant's House of Torture (and Pancakes.) I think that name speaks for itself.

 6. Book-boy Micah is a punk-rock baker with a tattoos and a mohawk. So basically, imagine if Peeta were actually hot. Heheheh I am so #TeamGale! :D #SorryNotSorry

 5. The strong female friendship between Lainey and Bianca.

 4. Lainey's wonderfully wacky parents who are present throughout and do parental things like talk about birth control and give their daughter a curfew.

 3. Laugh out loud moments. When you mix a preppy jock with a rocker boy and fold in a cast full of coffeeshop misfits, hilarity is bound to ensue. 

 2. Girl power. This is not the story of Lainey picking a boyfriend. This is the story of Lainey picking a Lainey. There might be two boys, but this is not a love triangle book.

 1. Character development. Yes, Lainey is flawed and yes, trying to scheme warlord-style to win back your boyfriend is probably a bad plan. But sometimes you have to do the wrong thing before you can even figure out what the right thing is.

 0. Bonus! Once you're finished reading LAINEY, you'll want to read the 100-page, Micah-flavored,prequel novella called INFINITE REPEAT and the totally free and so adorable you might spontaneously explode into glitter short story/epilogue NEW MUSIC.


Ready to invest that coffee money in hours of giggling and swoons? Score a copy of The Art of Lainey for just $1.99 from these retailers. Sorry. Deal may not be available in all countries.
Wanna spread the word with one of these pre-made tweets? Micah says he'll love you forever if you do ;)

Looking for a story of self-discovery, friendship, romance, and...torture breakfast food? LAINEY is $1.99! www.authorpaulastokes.com

Falling in love has never been so fun (or affordable!) The Art of Lainey is just $1.99 all week. www.authorpaulastokes.com

Got a thing for punk-rock bakers? You will after you read The Art of Lainey :D Get an e-copy for just $1.99! www.authorpaulastokes.com


5 comments:

  1. Self-discovery, friendship, sports and romance - sounds like an interesting and heartwarming story for all ages. Can't wait for the release!

    ChatEbooks recently posted https://www.chatebooks.com/blog-Writing-Childrens-Books-10-Lessons-Dr.-Seuss-Can-Teach-Writers

    ReplyDelete

I love your comments like I love cupcakes! Thanks so much for stopping by :-)