Sunday, May 21, 2017

Girl Against the Universe: Seven Days Seven Giveaways Blog Tour


Hi everyone! Girl Against the Universe releases in paperback on June 6, 2017 and I’m so excited about that I decided to do an entire blog tour of giveaways to celebrate! In the story, main character Maguire creates a list of seven challenges to help her overcome her fears. This week, I posted seven fun challenges for you around the blogosphere, which are also seven chances to win a shiny GATU paperback :D

Some of the contests require you to have a Twitter or Instagram account, but others just require you to leave a blog comment. These contests are all international, but due to shipping costs, US winners will receive signed copies sent by me and INT winners will receive their books from Wordery or The Book Depository, with signed bookplates mailed separately.

All contests will end on May 31, 2017. All winners will be contacted via Instagram, Twitter, or email as well as posted on my blog in early June. If you’re going to enter a Twitter or Instagram challenge, be sure your account is set to public during the contest period so I will be able to see your entries and contact you if you win. 

My editor and I updated the sales copy for the book to help it better reflect the mental health and therapy components, as opposed to making it sound romance-centric. Here's the new description:


From the author of The Art of Lainey and Liars, Inc. comes a fresh, contemporary story about a girl coping with PTSD and the boy who wants to help her move on from the past. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jenny Han.

Sixteen-year-old Maguire knows the universe is against her. No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when she's around. Like that time the roller coaster jumped off its tracks. Or the time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash--and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch. 

Despite what her therapist tells her, Maguire thinks it's best to hide out in her room, far away from anyone she might accidentally hurt. But then she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star who wants to help her break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for him is to stay away, but it turns out staying away may be harder than she thought.


If GATU were a gif, it would be this one :)

Ready to start winning? I tried to create challenges that not only promoted GATU's paperback release, but were also fun to complete and benefited the literary community. After all, who doesn't need recommendations for thoughtfully written mental health novels? Who couldn't use an inspirational quote or a fun haiku to brighten their day? You can enter one contest or all seven. I'm not expecting more than ten entries for most of these, so if you want a free signed copy of the novel, this is an excellent chance to score one. Note: if you already have a copy, these make great gifts :D


Challenge #1:
Bookstagram a mental health novel you felt was well done.
Requires Instagram. Read blog post for full details.

Challenge #2:
Tweet or Instagram one of your favorite inspirational quotes
Requires Twitter or Instagram (but not both.) Read blog post for full details.


Challenge #3:
Write a haiku about luck, tennis, dolphins, or burritos :)
Requires a blog comment or Twitter (but not both.) Read blog post for full details.


Challenge #4: 
Share a book that made you feel happy or empowered after reading.
Requires Instagram or Twitter (but not both.) Read blog post for full details.


Challenge #5: 
Make like Maguire and share one of your own fears, plus two strategies for working on it. Requires blog comment. Read blog post for full details.

Challenge #6:
Share the luck! Or your lucky charms anyway :)
Requires Instagram or Twitter (but not both.) Read blog post for full details.


Here's one of my good luck charms with my next release :)


Which brings us to:



Challenge #7:
Share the first six challenges.
Today's challenge is an easy-breezy Rafflecopter, with points for tweeting and retweeting.


Below it is a bonus Rafflecopter because I promised a bonus giveaway with this tour. Remember, all challenges go until the end of the month, so there's still plenty of time to enter as many times as you want :) 

Questions? Put 'em in the comments.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

DOUBLE BONUS GIVEAWAY: Don't miss a chance to win a copy of The Art of Lainey too :)

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love your comments like I love cupcakes! Thanks so much for stopping by :-)