Thursday, July 12, 2018

Hidden Pieces pre-order incentive

Are you planning to buy HIDDEN PIECES? If so, you might want to order early and take advantage of this awesome pre-order incentive!

U.S. readers can get a signed/personalized copy by ordering via Vintage Books in Vancouver, WA. U.S. addresses only. Shipping charges will apply. Please note in special instructions that you would like the book signed, including telling me whether you would like personalization.

Here's more information about the book:


"Hidden Pieces is the dark, twisted, amped up, I Know What You Did Last Summer-esque YA suspense of my dreams! Paula Stokes delivers a modern classic."
-Gretchen McNeil, author of TEN and #MurderTrending

"Tightly plotted, character-driven, and atmospheric. Hidden Pieces is packed with emotion and layered with multiple mysteries.
-Erin Jade Lange, author of Rebel Bully Geek Pariah

"A character-driven mystery perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Deb Caletti.”
-School Library Journal

“Stokes offers a classic whodunit, masterfully played. Characters, even minor ones, are well developed, as are the subplots . . . All become, as the title indicates, pieces of an intricate puzzle.”
-ALA Booklist, starred review


Embry Woods has secrets. Small ones about her past. Bigger ones about her relationship with town hero Luke and her feelings for someone new. But the biggest secret she carries with her is about what happened that night at the Sea Cliff Inn. The fire. The homeless guy. Everyone thinks Embry is a hero, too, but that couldn’t be further from the truth.

Embry thinks she’ll have to take the secret to her grave, until she receives an anonymous note—someone else knows the truth. Next comes a series of threatening messages, asking Embry to make impossible choices, forcing her to put her loved ones at risk. Someone is playing a high stakes game where no one in Embry’s life is safe. And their last move ... is murder.




Everyone who orders a new hardcover or e-book of Hidden Pieces, from any store or website, by Aug 28th, 2018 (so yes, if you ordered last week or 6 months ago it counts), is eligible to receive 2 signed bookmarks, a signed bookplate, a magnet, and 2 stickers. Depending on how many pre-orders I get, I might include some bonus stickers :)




This incentive is international. In order to get your free goodies, you need to email your mailing address to pstokesbooks [at] gmail [dot] com subject: HIDDEN PIECES PRE-ORDER, and include a photo, scan, or screenshot of your order confirmation or receipt. Offer ends August 28, 2018. Let me know if you want me to personalize the bookplate to a different first name than the one you use for your mailing address.

Lovely international peeps: It helps me a ton if you type out your address on multiple lines like my super-clueless self should address the envelope. Also, don't forget to include your postal code if that's something you're not used to using. Please allow six to eight weeks for arrival.



BONUS: Everyone who pre-orders has a chance to win a special mystery prize pack (which may or may not come wrapped in an evidence bag and crime scene tape :D)

One lucky pre-orderer will be chosen at random to receive a prize pack of some of my favorite YA thriller novels + some mysterious bonus goodies. (International prize may vary due to shipping costs, but will still include multiple YA mystery novels.)

NOTE: If you pre-order HIDDEN PIECES and then win a copy from me in one of several giveaways I'll be running in the next month, I'll let you pick any of my other YA novels as a contest prize. That way there's no danger of anyone pre-ordering and ending up with multiple copies...though I've heard they make great gifts ;D Seriously, though. Anytime you win a contest from me, I will almost always let you substitute in another of my books unless I'm purposely trying to get rid of ARCs or extra copies.








Wanna try before you buy? Click here to read the first three chapters of HIDDEN PIECES.


Ready to purchase? Pre-order from Vintage Books, or any of the following retailers:

Order from Amazon! Order from iBooks! Order from Barnes & Noble! Order from Harper Collins! Order from Kobo! Order from The Book Depository!



Got questions? Email me or put them in the comments :)